Process vs. Product


I taught pre-school for a number of years ages 3 threw 5. Loved it! Part of our process to maintaining our state license was participating in many hours of training every year. One training session I enjoyed the most was on early childhood art. It dove into how children see their art, how we as adults should respond to their art and so forth and so on. The main thing I took from that class was what matters most is the process of art. Not the finished product. Creating,  using their hands, using their imagination was key, not if the finished product was frame worthy by anyone else’s definition other then their own. It’s the process of creating art that is the benift of art.

So….how that applies to today’s card..

It was a process!  I used my creativity!  A fun process that seemed to grow and grow….and I loved it! This stamp set by W Plus 9 allowes for so much creative play. It’s great!!! 


This card started with stamping this sweet little bird and then adding some extra details with prismacolor pencils. I also used glossy accents for the beak and gel pens for the eyes and the white dots on his cheeks. 

And the the process really took off. I stamped the branch and a few leaves and flowers on a stitches circle die cut from Simon Says Stamp. I stamped more leaves and flowers and cut them out by hand. There are dies available but I have been enjoying the process of fussy cutting lately.  I put a crease in the leaves and added some detail to the flowers with my gel pen and glitter pan and even an ink pad embossing tool…the old kind from Lasting Impressions. I used a few pop dots here and there, too.

I stamped the sentiment which is from the Curious Forest Friends W Plus 9 stamp set and added some stitching with a die from MFT….all cardstock is MFT, too, btw. I cut out the navy blue banner and stamped a background on it and then stamped the dot background on the main card panel. 

Like I said….it was a process! A fun and enjoyable process. And as a result I am proud of my art!

 I might have missed a step or 2 along the way but I think you can spot them from the pictures.
Hugs!!!

Leave a Reply

